Michel BALAN

Director of Operations

France

Indicative price: € 1000 - 1125 / day

Michel BALAN Expert premium

Michel BALAN

Premium Expert

Director of Operations

France

"The older I get, the more future I have."

Indicative price € 1000 - 1125 / day

Availabilities

Michel is available immediately

Michel is available for missions Full time, Time sharing, Special mission

Michel moves to the International level

The expert in a few words....

As a specialist in Operations Management within technical service companies and in industry, I assist companies in their transformation, the anchoring of new organisations and the search for improvements in operational performance. I always pay great attention to the human aspect of organizations.

His specific skills

  • Management: multidisciplinary teams of 10 to 1,000 people (shift and itinerant staff). Hierarchical and transversal management. Organizational Optimization - Operational Excellence - Productivity Improvement - Organizational Transformation
  • Human Resources : - Recruitment, - Employee loyalty, - Implementation of training plans that pull employees upwards.
  • Start-up of an international subsidiary (Buenos Aires - Argentina): commercial prospecting, company structuring, recruitment, team training.
  • Multi-technical maintenance (preventive, conditional, corrective) Maintenance methods - Assistance in starting up large contracts - Improvement of productivity and margins.

His experience

Michel has 40 years of experience

Services pour l’environnement

September 2013 - August 2015

Maintenance Director

Spie Batignolles Energie

Eaubonne - France

Development of the "maintenance contracts" activity and a plumbing service.

Pétrole et énergie

January 2010 - August 2013

Technical Director Maintenance

Engie Axima

Villeurbanne - France

Expertise support to operational staff to develop the added value of maintenance services: - Energy and environmental efficiency: Development of contracts with commitments. - Maintenance methods: Start-up of new contracts - CMMS. - Skills development: training of business managers and technicians. - Technical and regulatory watch: development of innovation. - ISO 9001 quality system management: follow-up and renewal audits. - Expertise and measurements: progress plans, technical problem solving, etc.

Pétrole et énergie

February 1996 - December 2009

Maintenance Director

Engie Axima

Nantes - France

Commercial, financial, technical and administrative management of the company's maintenance activity: €102 million turnover, 9 regions and 40 agencies, 970 people including 750 technicians (70% itinerant and 30% on fixed sites). - Implementation of an aggressive sales development policy (sales +100%: €50 to 102 million in 6 years). - Rationalisation of purchases (significant gains on subcontracting) and close monitoring of agencies in difficulty (e.g.: on a €5 million/year contract, gain of €150k on subcontracting). - Improvement in margins for services not covered by contracts: control over costing and execution, reduction in non-quality costs (change in the sales coefficient from 1.30 to 1.42). - Mobilization of the account managers in the improvement of productivity: implementation of quarterly re-analyses of business and results and improvement action plans (Ebit increased from 5 to 8%). - Development of small-scale work excluding contracts (in 6 years, increase from 30% to 40% of total sales). - Leading teams in the context of company acquisitions and mergers. - Management of bi-national and/or grouped contracts - Axima Mandataire (Eurotunnel Groupement FR/UK - 60 pers. - 5 M€/year; European Parliament - Grouping - 58 people - 5 M€/year) - Customer Loyalty: improvement in the contract renewal rate (from 60 to 85%). - Reinforcement of customer proximity through the creation of new regional branches (7 branches created). - Recruitment and training of top managers: 20 junior engineers recruited and trained. - Implementation of a human resources policy aimed at reducing the turnover of Branch Directors and Business Managers (reduction in turnover from 10% to 2% per year). - Improvement in safety results: Frequency Rate (TF) divided by 3 (21% to 7%).

His education

  • 1977 : Ingénieur Civil des Mines (Ecole des Mines de Nancy)
  • 1972 : Baccalauréat série C (Lycée Franco Mexicain de Mexico)

Its missions

  • July 2020 to present - Engie Solutions (Ineo) - Transition Manager - Director of Operations - Le Havre (Mission provided by Talents & Projets) Overall objective of the mission: to rebuild the Agency's management and operating base at the human and organisational level by working alongside the Agency Director to manage and coordinate all the operational teams (Project Managers, Assistant Project Managers, Works Supervisors, Technicians): - Human resources management : - Detailed mapping of the skills of the Agency's staff, and updating of training needs and monitoring of accreditations. - Take control of resource allocation. Leading the Agency's operational planning and the Planning Meeting allowing its weekly update. Adapt the allocation of resources to the work sites according to their skills. To balance the activity of all staff. - Reviewing the organization of the Agency at the level of operational teams and management. Adapt the structure to the appropriate level of skills. Establish the rites and responsibilities of managers. - Management of margin and site risks : - Carry out an audit of low margin business. Control the contracts sold and identify the discrepancies in their execution. Break down by contract the hours sold and the hours actually worked both on the building sites and in the Design Office. - Examine the application and appropriation of INEO business management methods, tools and processes (Finance, QSE, etc...). Clarify the distribution of tasks, roles and responsibilities. - Study the optimization of services shared with the Agence Réseaux (Assistance, Purchasing). - Quality of service delivery: - To control on the field the human means and the organization set up. - To control the processes from the order taking to the realization of the business. Ensure the quality of the services provided in relation to what has been sold (under/over quality).
  • January 2020 to May 2020 - Cofely Airport and Logistics Systems - Transition Manager - Senior Project Manager (end of mission following the closure of Orly Airport) Assistance with the start-up of the maintenance contract for the baggage sorting installations throughout Orly airport - Piloting of the "maintenance methods" teams. Objective: to make up for the delay of more than 3 months and to be ready for the operational phase on the 2nd of March. May 2020. Quality Assurance Plan (QAP) - Characterization of equipment - Choice of maintenance methods - Training plan for the 30 technicians assigned to the contract - Establishment of maintenance schedules - Definition of spare parts stock - CMMS parameterization - EDM update - Intervention operating methods
  • Oct. 2018 to Sept. 2019 - Valtus - Transition Manager - Branch Director - Bordeaux/Biarritz Management of a team of 70 employees Replacement at short notice - Ensuring operational continuity - Change management - Improving collaboration with Operational Agencies - Deploying mobility tools - Improving operational performance: implementation and piloting using KPIs - Improving the intervention process - Managing the performance of interventions (300,000 per year) - Regionally reorganising the Automation and Industrial IT teams - Assistance with the start-up of a national logistics platform
  • June 2018 to Sept. 2018 - REEL for Orano in La Hague - Transition Manager - Contract Director Management of the Multitechnical Maintenance contract between GIE IMAC (REEL+AEMCO+ORANO DS) and Orano on the site of the La Hague plant (170 people): Objectives: to improve relations with the customer, to reduce the outstanding maintenance (preventive and corrective), to structure the team with the right skills, to improve the profitability of the contract. - Ensure relations with the Customer, - Ensure relations with the 3 partners of the GIE, - Organize maintenance teams, - Audit of skills and definition of recruitment needs, - Implementation of an action plan to reduce preventive and corrective maintenance work in progress, - Define the target organisation after the first year of the contract, an organisation that should ensure the good performance of the contractual services as well as the economic balance of the contract, - Initiate actions for operational excellence.
  • Oct.2017 to May 2018 - Valtus - Transition Manager - Branch Manager - Anzin/Compiègne Replacement at short notice - Ensuring operational continuity - Change management - Internal and external recruitment - Stabilizing teams - Site closure - Presentation of reorganization projects to IRPs - Re-motivating teams - Stabilizing the new organization
  • February 2017 to Oct. 2017 - Valtus - Transition Manager - Agency Manager - Dijon/Mulhouse Replacement at short notice - Ensuring operational continuity - Change management - Internal recruitment - Team stabilization - Transfer of activity to another site - Integration of new geographical areas - Organizational transformation

Languages (2)

  • Spanish : fluent
  • English : fluent

Skills (6)

  • Management of complex projects
  • Operational Excellence
  • Improved operational performance
  • Organizational Transformation
  • Management
  • Project management

Activity areas (6)

  • Airlines/Aviation
  • Management Consulting
  • Construction
  • Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Oil & Energy
  • Environmental Services

Types of business (7)

  • Companies in difficulty
  • Subsidiaries of foreign groups
  • Investment funds and holding companies
  • Groups and large companies
  • LBO and Private Equity
  • Small and medium-sized enterprises
  • Start-up

Michel BALAN

Directeur des Opérations

France

Tarif indicatif : € 1000 - 1125 / jour

Michel BALAN Expert premium

Michel BALAN

Expert Premium

Directeur des Opérations

France

"Plus je vieillis et plus j'ai d'avenir"

Tarif indicatif € 1000 - 1125 / jour

Disponibilités

Michel est disponible immédiatement

Michel est disponible pour des missions Temps plein, Temps partagé, Mission spéciale

Michel se déplace au niveau Internationale

L'expert en quelques mots...

Spécialiste dans la Direction des Opérations au sein de sociétés de prestations de services techniques et dans l'industrie, j'accompagne les sociétés dans leur transformation, l'ancrage de nouvelles organisations et la recherche d'améliorations des performances opérationnelles. J'apporte toujours une grande attention à l'aspect humain des organisations.

Ses compétences spécifiques

  • Management : équipes pluridisciplinaires de 10 à 1.000 personnes (personnel posté et itinérant). Management hiérarchique et transversal. Optimisation des organisations - Excellence opérationnelle - Amélioration de la productivité - Transformation des organisations
  • Ressources humaines : - Recrutement, - Fidélisation des collaborateurs, - Mise en place de plans de formation qui tirent les collaborateurs vers le haut.
  • Démarrage de filiale à l'international (Buenos Aires - Argentine) : prospection commerciale, structuration de l'entreprise, recrutement, formation des équipes.
  • Maintenance multitechnique (préventive, conditionnelle, corrective) Méthodes maintenance - Assistance au démarrage de gros contrats - Amélioration de la productivité et des marges - Fidélisation des clients
  • Gestion de Projets complexes depuis les études jusqu'à la réalisation (suivi du chantier).

Son expérience

Michel a 40 années d'expériences

Services pour l’environnement

septembre 2013 - août 2015

Directeur Maintenance

Spie Batignolles Energie

Eaubonne - France

Développement de l'activité "contrats de maintenance" et d'un service de plomberie.

Pétrole et énergie

janvier 2010 - août 2013

Directeur Technique Maintenance

Engie Axima

Villeurbanne - France

Support d’expertises aux opérationnels pour développer la valeur ajoutée des prestations de maintenance : - Efficacité énergétique et environnementale : Développement de contrats avec engagements. - Méthodes maintenance : Démarrage des nouveaux contrats-Aide à l’exploitation des contrat - GMAO. - Développement des compétences : formation des Responsables d’Affaires et des Techniciens. - Veille technique et réglementaire : développement de l’innovation. - Management du système qualité ISO 9001 : audits de suivi et de renouvellement. - Expertise et mesures : plans de progrès, résolution de problèmes techniques,…

Pétrole et énergie

février 1996 - décembre 2009

Directeur Maintenance

Engie Axima

Nantes - France

Direction commerciale, financière, technique et administrative de l’activité maintenance de la société : 102 M€ de C.A., 9 régions et 40 agences, 970 personnes dont 750 techniciens (70% itinérants et 30 % sur site fixe). - Mise en place d’une politique offensive de développement commercial (C.A. + 100 % : 50 à 102 M€ en 6 ans). - Rationalisation des achats (gains significatifs sur la sous-traitance) et suivi rapproché des agences en difficulté (exemple : sur contrat de 5 M€/an gain de 150 k€ sur la sous-traitance). - Amélioration des marges des prestations hors contrats : maîtrise du chiffrage et de la réalisation, réduction des coûts de non qualité (évolution du coefficient de vente de 1,30 à 1,42). - Mobilisation des chargés d’affaires dans l’amélioration de la productivité : mise en place de ré-analyses trimestrielles des affaires et des résultats et des plans d’actions d’amélioration (Ebit porté de 5 à 8 %). - Développement des petits-travaux hors contrats (en 6 ans passage de 30 % à 40 % du C.A. total). - Animation d’équipes dans des contextes d’achat et de fusion d’entreprises. - Gestion de contrats binationaux et/ou en groupement – Axima Mandataire (Eurotunnel Groupement FR/UK – 60 pers. – 5 M€/an; Parlement Européen – Groupement – 58 personnes – 5 M€/an) - Fidélisation des Clients : amélioration du taux de renouvellement des contrats (passage de 60 à 85 %). - Renforcement de la proximité client par la création de nouvelles agences régionales (7 agences crées). - Recrutement et formation des top managers : 20 ingénieurs débutants recrutés et formés. - Mise en place d’une politique de ressources humaines visant à réduire le turn-over des Directeurs d’Agences et Responsables d’Affaires (diminution du turn-over de 10 à 2 % annuel). - Amélioration des résultats sécurité : Taux de Fréquence (TF) divisé par 3 (21 % à 7 %).

Sa formation

  • 1977 : Ingénieur Civil des Mines (Ecole des Mines de Nancy)
  • 1972 : Baccalauréat série C (Lycée Franco Mexicain de Mexico)

Ses missions

  • Juillet 2020 à actuellement - Engie Solutions (Ineo) - Manager de Transition - Directeur des Opérations - Le Havre (Mission pourvue par Talents & Projets) Objectif global de la mission : reconstruire le socle de gestion et de fonctionnement de l’Agence au niveau humain et organisationnel en assurant aux côtés du Directeur d’Agence la prise en charge et la coordination de l’ensemble des équipes opérationnelles (Responsables d’Affaires, Assistants Responsables d'Affaires, Conducteurs de Travaux, Techniciens) : - Pilotage des ressources humaines : • Détailler la cartographie des compétences du personnel de l’Agence, et mettre à jour les besoins en formations et le suivi des habilitations. • Prendre la main sur l’allocation des ressources. Animer le planning opérationnel de l’Agence et la Réunion Planning permettant sa mise à jour hebdomadaire. Adapter l’allocation des ressources aux chantiers en fonction de leurs compétences. Équilibrer l’activité sur l’ensemble du personnel. • Revoir l’organisation de l’Agence au niveau des équipes opérationnelles et de l’encadrement. Adapter la structure au niveau adéquat des compétences. Instaurer les rites et les responsabilités des managers. - Pilotage de la marge & des risques chantiers : • Réaliser un audit des affaires présentant une marge faible. Contrôler les contrats vendus et identifier les écarts dans leur réalisation. Décomposer par contrat les heures vendues et les heures effectivement réalisées tant sur les chantiers qu’au Bureau d’Etudes. • Examiner l’application et l’appropriation des méthodes de gestion d’affaires, outils et process INEO (Finance, QSE, etc…). Clarifier la répartition des tâches, rôles et responsabilités. • Etudier l’optimisation des services mutualisés avec l’Agence Réseaux (Assistanat, filière Achats). - Qualité de réalisation des prestations : • Contrôler sur le terrain les moyens humains et l’organisation mise en place. • Contrôler les processus depuis la prise de commande jusqu'à la réalisation des affaires. S’assurer de la qualité des prestations réalisées par rapport à ce qui a été vendu (sous/sur- qualité).
  • Janvier 2020 à mai 2020 - Cofely Airport and Logistics Systems - Manager de Transition - Chef de Projet senior (fin de mission suite à la fermeture de l’aéroport d’Orly) Assistance au démarrage du contrat de maintenance des installations de tri bagages sur la totalité de l'aéroport d'Orly - Pilotage des équipes "méthodes maintenance". Objectif : rattraper le retard pris depuis plus de 3 mois et être prêt pour la phase opérationnelle le 2 mai 2020. Plan Assurance Qualité (PAQ) - Caractérisation des équipements - Choix des méthodes de maintenance - Plan de formation des 30 Techniciens affectés au contrat - Etablissement des plannings de maintenance - Définition du stock de pièces de rechange - Paramétrage de la GMAO - Mise à jour de la GED - Modes opératoires d'intervention
  • Oct. 2018 à sept. 2019 - Valtus - Manager de Transition - Directeur d'Agence - Bordeaux/Biarritz Management d'une équipe de 70 collaborateurs Remplacement au pied levé du titulaire - Assurer la continuité opérationnelle - Management du changement – Amélioration de la collaboration avec les Agences Opérationnelles – Déploiement d'outils de mobilité - Amélioration de la performance opérationnelle : mise en place et pilotage à l'aide de KPI - Améliorer le processus des interventions - Manager la performance des interventions (300.000 par an) - Réorganiser régionalement les équipes d'Automatismes et d'Informatique Industrielle - Assistance au démarrage d'une plateforme logistique nationale
  • Juin 2018 à sept. 2018 - REEL pour Orano à La Hague - Manager de Transition - Directeur de Contrat Pilotage du contrat de Maintenance Multitechnique qui lie le GIE IMAC (REEL+AEMCO+ORANO DS) à la société Orano sur le site de l’usine de La Hague (170 personnes) : Objectifs : améliorer les relations avec le client, réduire les encours de maintenance (préventif et correctif), structurer l'équipe avec les bonne compétences, améliorer la rentabilité du contrat. - Assurer les relations avec le Client, - Assurer les relations avec les 3 partenaires du GIE, - Organiser les équipes de maintenance, - Audit des compétences et définition des besoins en recrutement, - Mise en place d'un plan d'action pour réduire les encours de maintenance préventive et corrective, - Définir l’organisation cible après la première année de contrat, organisation devant permettre d’assurer la réalisation dans de bonnes conditions les prestations contractuelles de même que l’équilibre économique du contrat, - Initier les actions d’excellence opérationnelle.
  • Oct.2017 à mai 2018 - Valtus - Manager de Transition - Directeur d'Agence - Anzin/Compiègne Remplacement au pied levé du titulaire - Assurer la continuité opérationnelle - Management du changement – Recrutements internes et externes – Stabilisation des équipes - Fermeture de site – Présentation des projets de réorganisations aux IRP – Remotivation des équipes - Stabilisation de la nouvelle organisation
  • Février 2017 à oct. 2017 - Valtus - Manager de Transition - Directeur d'Agence - Dijon/Mulhouse Remplacement au pied levé du titulaire - Assurer la continuité opérationnelle - Management du changement – Recrutements internes – Stabilisation des équipes – Transfert d’activité sur un autre site – Intégration de nouveaux périmètres géographiques - Transformation des organisations

Langues (2)

  • Espagnol : courant
  • Anglais : courant

Compétences (9)

  • Gestion de projets complexes
  • Excellence Opérationelle
  • Management du changement
  • Amélioration des performances oérationnelles
  • Transformation des organisations
  • Management de BU
  • Management
  • Gestion de projet
  • Maintenance

Secteurs d'activité (6)

  • Compagnie aérienne/Aviation
  • Conseil en management
  • Construction
  • Ingénierie mécanique ou industrielle
  • Pétrole et énergie
  • Services pour l’environnement

Types d'entreprise (7)

  • Entreprises en difficulté
  • Filiales de groupes étrangers
  • Fonds d'investissement et Holdings
  • Groupes et Grandes entreprises
  • LBO et Private Equity
  • Petites et Moyennes entreprises
  • Start-Up